Eight Men Out (1988)




Director:    John Sayles.

Starring:    Jace Alexander (Dickie Kerr), John Cusack (Buck Weaver), Gordon Clapp (Ray Schalk), Don Harvey (Swede Risberg), Bill Irwin (Eddie Collins), Perry Lang (Fred McMullin), John Mahoney (Kid Gleason), James Read (Lefty Williams), Michael Rooker (Chick Gandil), Charlie Sheen (Hap Felsch), David Strathairn (Eddie Cicotte), D.B. Sweeney ("Shoeless" Joe Jackson), Jim Desmond (Smitty), John Sayles (Ring Lardner), Studs Terkel (Hugh Fullerton), Richard Edson (Billy Maharg), Michael Lerner (Arnold Rothstein), Christopher Lloyd (Bill Burns), Michael Mantell (Abe Attell), Kevin Tighe (Sport Sullivan).

Eight members of the 1919 Chicago White Sox World Series team become involved in a "fix" of the game (set up by gangster Arnold Rothstein) and earn the team's new nickname, the "Black Sox," for the ensuing baseball scandal.  Based on the book by a former Philadelphia Phillies farmhand Eliot Asinof.



Spoiler Warning:




Return To Main Page

Return to Home Page (Vernon Johns Society)